College Athletics


  • The National Collegiate Athletic Association is a member-led organization dedicated to the well-being and lifelong success of college athletes. NCAA schools develop and approve legislation for their own division. College-bound students who want to compete at a Division I or Division II school must meet standards set by NCAA members. For Division III, athletes must meet the admissions standards set by the school. 

    Division I: 

    • 350 schools
    • Multiyear, cost-of-attendance athletics scholarships available
    • 57% of athletes receive athletics aid

    Division II:

    • 310 schools
    • Partial athletics scholarship
    • 60% of athletes receive athletics aid

    Division III:

    • 438 schools
    • No athletics scholarships
    • 80% of athletes receive non-athletics aid

    If you want to play NCAA sports at a Division I or II school, you must register with the NCAA Eligibility Center.

    NCAA Registration Checklist

    Initial Eligibility & Academic Requirements



  • The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA), headquartered in Kansas City, Mo., is a governing body of small athletics programs that are dedicated to character-driven intercollegiate athletics. Each sport has an overall limit on the amount of financial aid it can award to students who will compete in varsity contests in that sport.

    NAIA FAQ's

    NAIA Entering Freshmen Cheat Sheet


  • The National Junior College Athletics Association mission is to promote and foster two-year college athletics.

    Division I:

    Colleges may grant full athletic scholarships (tuition, books, fees, room & board), up to $250 in course-required supplies, and transportation costs one time per academic year to and from the college by direct route. Each sport has limits on the number of scholarships that can be granted.

    Division II:

    Colleges may grant athletic scholarships, but scholarships are limited to tuition, books, fees, and up to $250 in course-required supplies. Each sport has limits on the number of scholarships that can be granted.

    Divsion III:

    Colleges are not permitted to offer any athletic scholarships.

    NJCAA schools in Colorado:

    Colorado Mountain College

    Colorado Northwestern Community College

    Lamar Community College

    Northeastern Junior College

    Otero Junior College

    Trinidad State Junior College