Get Involved!

  • Get involved and connect to others with similar interests!  Check out the current list of clubs.  If you want more information, contact the club sponsor via email. Don't see what you are looking for? We also offer the opportunity for you to start your own club. See Mr. Harper to find out what steps you need to take to make that happen.

    After school clubs and activities meet from 3:50-4:40 PM. Late busses are available Monday - Thursday.

  • AAPI

    Sponsor: Jenna Morse (jmeyers2@cherrycreekschools.org)

    Meeting Times: Bi-weekly (day of the week TBD) 3:50-4:30pm

    Description: Asian American & Pacific Islander Club allows our students to discover and learn about other AAPI cultures and traditions. We celebrate and honor those traditions through sharing meals, watching videos, and building community. This club is open to all grades, and you do not have to be AAPI to join (we just ask that you are an ally with us.) 

  • Art Club

    Sponsor: Sara McCall (smccall@cherrycreekschools.org)

    Meeting Time: Every other Tuesday

    Description: Students will be able to work on any art that they choose. I will have supplies that they can use. Students are also able to bring in their own art supplies and create with them as well. Art club allows students to explore their creativity in a safe place with like minded people. Students are expected be be doing some kind of art while at the club.

  • Black Student Alliance

    Sponsor: Jazmin Hooks (jhooks@cherrycreekschools.org), Shelby Thomas (sthomas48@cherrycreekschools.org), Zacchaeus Boss (zboss@cherrycreekschools.org), James Lewis (jlewis67@cherrycreekschools.org), Josh Turner (jturner9@cherrycreekschools.org), Shayna Price (sprice@cherrycreekschools.org)

    Meeting Time: Every other Tuesday

    Description: Black Student Alliance allows our students to celebrate and learn about Black culture. We build community and create a space to discuss leadership, current, and historical events. This club is open to all grades.  

  • Chess Club

    Sponsor: Beth Shepard (eshepard@cherrycreekschools.org), Kevin Manzanares (kmanzanares@cherrycreekschools.org)

    Meeting Time: Tuesdays 

    Description: Chess club gives students an opportunity to develop critical thinking skills via friendly competition. Join your peers in the timeless game of strategy for fun and competition! 

    More Information

  • D&D

    Sponsor: Ken Hirko (khirko@cherrycreekschools.org)

    Meeting Time: 1st and 3rd Wednesday of the month September - May

    Description: D&D Club allows students to explore their creativity through collaborative storytelling, using the Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition system. Materials are provided. 

  • Drama Club

    Sponsor: Jen Lin (ylin2@cherrycreekschools.org), Melissa Constantine (mconstantine@cherrycreekschools.org)

    Meeting Time: Tuesdays and Thursdays 

    Description: Students will explore all aspects of the theater, both acting and technical behind-the-scenes work. There will be 2 productions each school year, one stage play in the Fall and Musical in the Spring. Practices take place on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 3:50-4:45, and there are Saturday rehearsal per month. Dates for Saturday rehearsals TBD. We welcome students who are interested in acting, singing, dancing, directing, designs and management to join us.  

  • GSA

    Sponsor: Anginette Peterson (apeterson22@cherrycreekschools.org)

    Meeting Time: Wednesdays 3:50-4:40

    Description: GSAs are student-run organizations that unite LGBTQ+ and allied youth to build community and organize around issues impacting them in their schools and communities. Research confirms that the presence of a GSA has a positive and lasting effect on student health, wellness, and academic performance. It can also protect students from harassment based on sexual orientation or gender identity, and improve school climates for all students in the long-term. Students will meet to support one another and also develop the direction they would like their club to go for the year. 

  • Hispanic/Latinx Alliance

    Sponsor: Giselle Bustamante (gbustamante2@cherrycreekschools.org)

    Meeting Time: Every other week on Tuesdays 4:00-4:45pm (FIRST MEETING=September 13th) 

    Description: TBD by students! Name will also be TBD 

  • Math League

    Sponsor: Jamie Ottinger (jottinger@cherrycreekschools.org), Kyla Dyer (kdyer@cherrycreekschools.org) 

    Meeting Time: Sep - Dec Mondays 

    Description: Promote enjoyment and study of mathematics through organized grade level contests. Build community around enriching mathematical discussions within our school and across the district. 

  • NJHS

    Sponsor: Ken Hirko (khirko@cherrycreekschools.org)

    Description: The National Junior Honor Society is the nation’s premier organization established to recognized outstanding middle school students. At Horizon Community Middle School, students must obtain a grade point average of a 3.75 or higher in order to receive membership into this prestigious organization. As a member, students focus on service learning projects focused on the five pillars of NJHS which include creating enthusiasm for scholarship, stimulating a desire to render service, promoting leadership, and encourage responsible citizenship while developing student character. 

  • No Place for Hate

    Sponsor: Erica Killham (ekillham@cherrycreekschools.org)

    Meeting Time: Every other Wednesday 3:50-4:40

    Description: No Place for Hate is a self-directed program focused on improving and maintaining school climate so all students can thrive. NPFH specifically focuses on tolerance and diversity training so all students and staff feel safe and supported at school. 

  • Open Gym

    Sponsor: TJ Burroughs (tburroughs@cherrycreekschools.org), Rick Skurulsky (fskurulsky@cherrycreekschools.org)

    Meeting Time:

    Description:

  • Spelling Bee

    Sponsor: Sarah Hewson (shewson@cherrycreekschools.org)

    Meeting Time: Mondays 4:00 - 4:40 Oct-March (day of week subject to change during 2nd semester) 

    Description: Students practice spelling and vocabulary skills in preparation for the school and district spelling bees. Some students have a chance of advancing to the state or national Scripps Spelling Bee.  

  • Student Council

    Sponsor:

    Meeting Time:

    Description: Student Council is an organization conducted by students and supervised by adults. The purpose of the student council is to give students an opportunity to develop leadership by organizing and carrying out school activities and service projects. In addition to planning events that contribute to school spirit and community welfare, the student council is the voice of the student body. They help share student ideas, interests and concerns with the school wide community. Students will also be participating in empathy ambassador training. Empathy Ambassadors Leadership Training is a multi-disciplinary, multi-cultural, development program in which participants discover, or rediscover, and connect, reconnect, or expand how they live and interact in the world, both within and around them. 

  • TSA (Technology Student Association)

    Sponsor: Margelly Beltran (mbeltran4@cherrycreekschools.org)

    Meeting Time: Thursday/(TBD) Year Long 

    Description: The Technology Student Association (TSA) is a national organization of students engaged in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). TSA is supported by educators, parents and business leaders who believe in the need for a technologically literate society. Members learn through exciting competitive events, leadership opportunities and much more. The diversity of activities makes TSA a positive experience for every student. From engineers to business managers, our alumni credit TSA with a positive influence on their lives.