Return to Headlines

CCSD seniors named 2020 Daniels Scholars

2020 Daniels Scholars Congratulations to ten seniors in the Cherry Creek School District who have been named 2020 Daniels Scholars because of their exceptional character, leadership and commitment to serving their communities. These outstanding young people will receive funds from the Daniels Scholarship Program, which provides comprehensive college scholarships that help cover the costs of tuition and fees, room and board, books and supplies and miscellaneous educational expenses.

The Cherry Creek School District’s 2020 Daniels Scholars are:
•    Grace Lynn Barlow - Smoky Hill High School
•    Samantha Jaclyn Einstein - Grandview High School
•    Xiaomeng Gong - Cherry Creek High School
•    Stephan Daniel Legarburo - Cherokee Trail High School
•    Vy Nghe - Cherokee Trail High School
•    Anthony Corbin Politi - Cherry Creek High School
•    Elizabeth Grace Russo - Smoky Hill High School
•    Apshara Siwakoti - Grandview High School
•    Ali Pervaiz Sulehria - Eaglecrest High School
•    Beneyam Wondwosen Yifru - Overland High School

More than 2,200 students completed the application for the Daniels Scholarship Program this year. Of the 216 students selected as 2020 Daniels Scholars, 128 are from Colorado, 24 are from New Mexico, 32 are from Utah and 32 are from Wyoming.

The Daniels Scholarship Program is part of the legacy of cable television pioneer and philanthropist Bill Daniels. He founded the Young Americans Bank in 1987 and supported the business school at the University of Denver, which was later renamed the Daniels College of Business in his honor. He also established the Daniels Fund, one of the largest foundations in the Rocky Mountain region. Since 2000, $188 million in scholarships has been awarded to more than 4,160 students through the Daniels Scholarship Program.

Posted 3/31/2020.