Return to Headlines

Board members take oath of office

CCSD Board of EducationIncumbent Kelly Bates and newcomer Kristin Allan took the oath of office as members of the Cherry Creek Schools Board of Education during a special board meeting held at the Fremont Learning Center on Nov. 29. Allan and Bates, elected by Cherry Creek School District voters on Nov. 2, were sworn in by outgoing board President Karen Fisher as family members and district leaders looked on.

Bates, who was first elected to the board in 2017, and Allan, an active community volunteer and advocate for the district, join current board members Janice McDonald, Anne Egan and Angela Garland on the Board of Education, which sets policy and provides strategic vision for the district.

After the oath of office was administered, Superintendent Christopher Smith congratulated Allan and Bates and said he and district staff are looking forward to working with them and the other board members.

Board members, who are unpaid volunteers, are responsible for the academic success of more than 55,000 students, as well as the efficient management of a district with nearly 9,000 full and part-time employees. They spend countless hours studying student achievement and school finance, working with lawmakers and educational experts, meeting with district administrators, teachers, staff members, parents and students, and attending school and district events.

The new board elected Bates as president and McDonald as vice president.

Posted 12/2/21.