Return to Headlines

Thank you, CCSD Board of Education

CCSD Board of Education.January is School Board Recognition Month and the Cherry Creek School District is proud to acknowledge the dedicated service and invaluable contributions made by the members of the Cherry Creek Schools Board of Education: Kristin Allan, Kelly Bates, Anne Egan, Angela Garland and Janice McDonald.

The board members are unpaid volunteers who spend countless hours studying complex issues such as student achievement, equity and school finance. They spend 12 months a year working with lawmakers and educational experts, meeting with district administrators, teachers, staff members, parents and students and attending school and district events. They are responsible for the academic success of more than 55,000 students, as well as the efficient management of a district with more than 7,500 full and part-time employees.

“We are so fortunate in the Cherry Creek School District to have board members who are so committed to our students and our community. These dedicated volunteers have worked tirelessly on behalf of our district, even as we’ve faced extraordinary challenges,” said Christopher Smith, superintendent of Cherry Creek Schools. “No matter what we face as a district and as a community, our board members are there to ensure we remain committed to our dedication to excellence for all students.”

Each board member represents one of the district’s five director districts, but they are elected ‘at-large’ to four-year terms by registered voters via a non-partisan ballot.

Board of Education meetings are generally held at 7 p.m. on the second Monday of the month at one of the Cherry Creek schools.

- Posted 1/19/22 at 12:30 PM