Return to Headlines

CCSD seniors named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

National Merit Scholarship Program logoForty-five seniors from Cherry Creek School District high schools have been selected as National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists in the 68th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,250 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $28 million that will be offered next spring. The National Merit Scholarship Program honors individual students who show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

The Semifinalists entered the 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program as high school juniors by taking the 2021 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The 16,000 Semifinalists represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors and include the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and a high school official must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT® or ACT® scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

Congratulations and good luck to these National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists:

  • Cameron Barnaik – Cherokee Trail High School
  • Caleb Becker-Schwartz – Cherry Creek High School
  • Megan Bukovinsky – Grandview High School
  • Jason Chen – Cherry Creek High School
  • Nikolas Crounse – Grandview High School
  • Cooper Druck – Cherokee Trail High School
  • Alyssa DuCharme – Grandview High School
  • Jason Fan – Cherry Creek High School     
  • Andrew Fox – Grandview High School
  • Mohan Gopal – Cherry Creek High School             
  • Avidan Grope – Cherry Creek High School             
  • Anna Haemer – Cherry Creek High School             
  • Yusif Hanif – Grandview High School
  • Sophia Haynes – Smoky Hill High School
  • Mirabai Herz – Cherry Creek High School              
  • Keelan Hu – Cherry Creek High School    
  • Noah Huff – Cherry Creek High School    
  • Tate Hutchins – Cherry Creek High School            
  • Mahi Kathait – Grandview High School
  • Grace Kirkpatrick – Grandview High School
  • Elena Korn – Grandview High School
  • Angela Lee – Grandview High School
  • John Lim – Grandview High School
  • Mikael Miao – Cherry Creek High School
  • Connor Miller – Grandview High School
  • Amaya Nicklas – Cherry Creek High School           
  • Carter Preece – Cherry Creek High School             
  • Tanishqa Puhan – Cherry Creek High School
  • Damon Robb – Cherry Creek High School              
  • Skylar Sarsfeld – Cherry Creek High School           
  • Selen Serdar – Cherry Creek High School
  • Kris Sun – Cherokee Trail High School
  • Nathan Sunker – Cherry Creek High School          
  • Carli Swisher – Cherry Creek High School              
  • Arjun Vattipalli – Grandview High School
  • Ann Van Wyk – Cherry Creek High School             
  • Wesley Walker– Grandview High School
  • Alyssa Watkins – Cherry Creek High School          
  • Megan Wijaya – Cherry Creek High School           
  • Calista Wilson – Cherry Creek High School            
  • Courtney Yang Mu – Cherry Creek Elevation
  • Justin Yeo – Cherry Creek High School    
  • Catherine Yue – Cherry Creek High School            
  • Eric Zhang – Cherry Creek High School   
  • Alex Zhou – Cherry Creek High School    

Posted 9/22/2022.