Return to Headlines

Robotics Team Wins Tournament

blazerbot photos
Over the weekend of October 8, several dedicated robotics team members won the 2022 Kendrick Castillo Memorial Tournament, Colorado's big FIRST Robotics off-season event. Overland didn't field a team in the 2022 competition, and all the students this year are rookies — making it an amazing initial experience for them in FIRST Robotics. FRC Team 3807 is back with a bang!
Please congratulate these students when you see them:
Kareem Ahmed, Arijaye Derritt, Yohanis Mekonen, Maria Nguyen, Nicholas Olsen, Elsalyn Pruel, Navtej Singh, and Moises Trana.
Unable to attend this weekend: Emily Elliott, Justin Dealtan, Eric Ta, Angelina Pena, Mahmoud Gameel, and Yathaarth Jariwala
There are a few students still at OHS from the 2020 team, although they are no longer competing with us:  Ali Abbas, Elijah Biehl, and Gabby Marshall.
Robotics sponsor Kate McDonnell would like to thank Daniel Brandt for helping out with the team this year, Debbie Gregg for hanging out with the team for a day, and Arielle Bergmann for making those awesome shirts. Also, to Marilyn Kemp formerly of Overland for supporting our team through thick and thin (and enemy alliances!).
We are eternally grateful for our dedicated mentor and fantastic photographer, Ron DePoty who has been with us for the last six years.
We also received support from some amazing former students and soon-to-be-official mentors: Sam Goldman, Gabe Dekay, Joey Muller, and Abraham Selenke.
And BIG thank you's to Sara Grobbel of Career & Innovation who makes it possible for us to do this each year and the CTE crew for all the support 🙂